Starting Over Again – Making a Healthy Lifestyle Stick

healthy snack fruit and cacao

There are a ridiculous amount of healthy lifestyle blogs. I should know, I read them religiously and run one myself now. I’ve always wondered what motivates other people to editorialize their journey. My motivation is to use this blog as a method of accountability.

I’ve always been a writer. It’s part of my soul. Words are always there for me. Through my hardest times, the written word is my only form of expression. It makes sense, then, that whenever I want to change my life, I turn to some kind of journal. It helps keep me on track and it serves as evidence for Future Alex (that’s me).

I’ve kept journals my entire life. Some of them must have come right out of an owl’s mouth—‘cause they’re a hoot! Oh, to read about my high school woes is entertainment at its finest. I love the proof that I have matured; in comparison, I actually seem like a real adult!

But sometimes, these logs backfire. I have kept an “I Can Eat Just One” blog in some form for about two years. I’ve used the same title over many platforms as a way to track my progress to a healthy life. Life’s journeys are so rarely a straight line; they’re more like roller coasters. As far as health and weight loss, my past blogs only serve as evidence that I’ve gotten nowhere.

If you check out my progress, you’ll see two pictures: one from December 2011 and one from January 2012. I look the same. Those pictures are two attempts to “start over.” Here we are, December 2013, and I’m doing it again.

I’ve got a better plan this time and a lot in my life is different. I’m finally in a solid place emotionally and I think that will make a huge difference. Previously, I tried to gain control of my health so I would have control of something. Now, I have a good handle on the rest of my life and I feel better equipped to focus on my health.

It will take focus. I have a lot of bad habits to undo.

That brings me here, to this blog. I aim for Eat Just One to serve as a way to keep myself accountable. I hope to find support in the vast healthy lifestyle blogosphere. And I hope to—once and for all—write down the words that will serve as proof for Future Alex that she did do something absolutely amazing by turning her health around.

And since I’m naturally curious, let me know: Why did you start your blog? If you don’t have one, have you considered it? Weight in by commenting!

[Photo Credit: Jennifer, Flickr SweetOnVeg]

2 thoughts on “Starting Over Again – Making a Healthy Lifestyle Stick

  1. I started it the same reason as you did. I love to write and be creative. It keeps me focused and helps me emphasize the things which will make me successful!!!

Leave a Reply

